Australian film industry emerges as silent winner as India wins cricket series


Indian cricket team won a historic five-day series in Australia, but given the number of TV Commercials and brand shoots which moved to Oz to film with the cricketers there, Australia’s film industry has emerged as a surprise winner.

Millions of dollars were spent in Australia on TVC commercials, digital content and stills  by international and national Indian brands who relocated to Australia to time their filming with the Indian cricketers’ days off.

Sydney based filmmaker Anupam Sharma, who studied in Dehradun’s St Joseph Academy, and moved to Sydney after his 12th in 1986, tells us, “This is nothing new. Since 2004, every cricket tour is accompanied by a deluge of queries from India. This year the brands spent phenomenally high amounts, thanks to the success of the Indian team and more importantly Virat Kohli.”

Anupam Sharma and his company have pioneered film links between Australia and India since 1998 and have undertaken most of the TV commercials and films with cricketers from both the continents since 2003.

Jannine Barnes, who co-produced an Ad for Audi featuring Virat Kohli, with Melbourne  Director Dean Coddrington, observed, “It’s not just Australia but Victoria in particular which has benefited from millions of dollars spent on local crew and cast. Anupam, as a  producer, has been bringing Indian films and investment to Victoria for over 21 years and it just proves that we have the best film crew and facilities in Victoria.”

Audi produced the first ever ad for India featuring Virat Kohli through Corner Stone, the agency which represents the cricketer. Virat Kohli also filmed for Boost (energy drink) in Sydney, American Tourister and App stills for Premier League commercial in Melbourne, whilst other cricketers filmed for Red Bull along with several other brands.

Anupam Sharma’s company TEMPLE, is the only Australian film production house associated with high profile of Indian projects in Victoria and Australia since 1998.