Troubled Doonites prepare public manifesto for authorities

Members of the Manifesto committee

Dateline Dehradun: Exasperated with the incomplete activities of Smart City Doon and MDDA, a brainstorming session was organized by like-minded residents of Dehradun in the context of implementing the action plan taken on the basis of the suggestions of the representatives of the social organizations who participated in the recent Jan Samvad organized by the Sanyukta Nagarik Sangathan.

For this purpose, an expanded coordination committee was formed for collecting suggestions from the Doon residents for a public manifesto that will be handed over to the government administration officials, authorities and public representatives for its proper implementation.

There will also be a demand to ensure participation of social organizations in development works. A large scale awareness campaign will be conducted to get the consent and signatures of the common people in the public manifesto.

In the meeting, brainstorming discussions were held topics that covered the present implementation of smart city action plan, wide spread traffic jams on the roads, encroachment and the problems faced by the common man. Mushrooming multi-storey buildings being built in the middle of the city turning the green city into a concrete jungle day by day, cutting of trees in large numbers were just some of the concerns raised at the meeting. Anger was also expressed over the environmental damage, plight of half-finished footpaths, serious damage to trees and plants covered with thick layer of dust and ash along the historical Parade Ground, every growing population in Dehradun  and lack of public facilities, broken water, electricity and sewerage lines.

The coordination committee formed for the preparation of the public manifesto and the demands related to public interest included Brigadier, KG Behl, Padma Shri Doctor Ravi Chopra, Anoop Nautiyal, Sushil Tyagi, Jagmohan Mendiratta, Jaya Singh, Ira Chauhan, Devendrapal Singh Monty, Pradeep Kukreti, Jitendra Anthwal, Anil Jaggi, Dinesh Bhandari, Jasbir Singh Renotra, Jitendra Didona, Deepak Nagalia, Lt. Col. BM Thapa.